Sign In

The third Formula 1 Russian Grand Prix has been a success

The history of Formula 1 in Russia continues - Sochi Autodrom has successfully hosted the third Russian Grand Prix with full grandstands. The competitions were organised at the highest level.

 

The third Russian Grand Prix in history was won by Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg. This is the fourth consecutive win in the 2016 season for the German driver, which can be considered an outstanding result.

Rosberg has completed the so-called "grand slam" in the Russian Grand Prix - the pole position, the fastest lap, the win and being in the lead from start to finish.

The racing programme of the Russian Grand Prix has entertained the audience gathered at Sochi Autodrom for three days: on Friday there were two Formula 1 practice sessions, on Saturday there was one more practice session and qualifying, and on May 1 there was the race itself.

However, the 2016 FORMULA 1 RUSSIAN GRAND PRIX weekend is not about just Formula 1, but also the support races, which don't let fans to get bored. The support races at Sochi Autodrom have been very important: The FIA approved two Russian series for this role, noting thereby that Russian organisers and drivers are reaching the international level.

The SMP Formula 4 Championship and the Mitjet 2L Arctic Sup made their débuts at the Formula 1 weekend. The practice sessions, the qualifying sessions and especially the races of these championships had interesting, intense and close battles. The drivers, most of whom were Russians, proved that the FIA had been right to trust them. Alexey Korneyev, Nikita Sitnikov, Ivan Lukashevich, Alexey Basov, Alexey Karachev and Boris Shulmeyster were on the podium in the Saturday and Sunday races of SMP F4 Championship and Mitjet 2L Arctic Sup.

We would like to also point out another significant event that took place at Sochi Autodrom:  two Russian drivers took part in the Formula 1 practice session on Friday - a favourite Russian driver Daniil Kvyat of Red Bull Racing was joined by Sergey Sirotkin, who signed a test driver contract with the Renault Sport team on the eve of the Russian Grand Prix. Sirotkin's result - 13th of the Grand Prix drivers - is impressive and shows that the SMP Racing Russian drivers support programme have prepared a real star.

On Sunday, the big Sochi motorsport weekend was wrapped up with the Europa Plus Fest featuring performances by Russian pop stars - Band'Eros, Nyusha, Yulianna Karaulova, Elka, Burito, Elena Temnikova, masters of electronic dance music Swanky Tunes, Zeskullz and DJ Anton Bruner.

This concert made a great ending to the 2016 FORMULA 1 RUSSIAN GRAND PRIX. Not an ending, rather a "to be continued…". 

 


Upcoming events

Tell friends

Up

Вход

Гран-при Формула 1 2016

​​​История «королевских гонок» в России продолжается – на Сочи Автодроме на фоне полных трибун состоялся третий Гран-при России. Соревнования прошли на самом высоком организационном уровне.​ 

​Победу на третьем в истории Гран-при России одержал пилот команды Mercedes Нико Росберг. Она стала для немца четвертой подряд в сезоне-2016, что смело можно назвать выдающимся результатом. На счету пилота – так называемый «большой шлем» – поул-позиция, быстрейший круг в гонке, победа и лидирование со старта до финиша.

Зрители могли наблюдать за гоночными баталиями пилотов "королевских гонок" три дня: в пятницу прошли две сессии свободных заездов Формулы 1, в субботу – еще одна тренировка и квалификация, а 1 мая – сам «Большой приз».

Однако уикенд FORMULA 1 ГРАН-ПРИ РОССИИ 2016 – это не только «королевские гонки», но и гонки поддержки, которые не дают скучать поклонникам спорта. Гонки поддержки на Сочи Автодроме были знаковыми: Международная автомобильная федерация (FIA) одобрила на эту роль две российские серии, отметив тем самым, что российские организаторы и гонщики по уровню выходят на мировой уровень.

В программе уикенда Формулы 1 дебютировали серии SMP Formula 4 Championship и Mitjet 2L Аrctic Сup. Тренировки, квалификации и особенно гонки этих чемпионатов проходили в интересной, упорной и плотной борьбе. Пилоты, большую часть которых составляли россияне, доказали, что FIA не зря оказала им такое доверие. На подиум в субботних и воскресных гонках SMP F4 Championship и Mitjet 2L Аrctic Сup поднимались Алексей Корнеев, Никита Ситников, Иван Лукашевич, Алексей Басов, Алексей Карачев и Борис Шульмейстер.

Отметим и еще одно знаковое событие, произошедшее на Сочи Автодроме: в пятницу в свободных заездах Формулы 1 принимали участие сразу два пилота из России – к любимцу россиян Даниилу Квяту из Red Bull Racing присоединился Сергей Сироткин, который накануне Гран-при России подписал контракт тест-пилота команды Renault Sport. Результат Сироткина – 13-й среди пилотов Гран-при, – впечатляет и показывает, что в программе поддержки российских гонщиков SMP Racing выросла настоящая звезда.

В воскресенье итог «большого» сочинского автоспортивного уикенда подвел Europa Plus Fest с выступлениями российск​их звезд эстрады – Банд'Эрос, Нюши, Юлианны Карауловой, Елки, Бурито, Елены Темниковой, м​астеров электронной танцевальной музыки Swanky Tunes, Zeskullz и DJ Anton​ Bruner.

Ближайшие события

Расскажите друзьям

Наверх